Gluten Free

Is Panna Cotta Gluten Free?

You can never be too full for the creamy Italian Panna Cotta dessert, which always presents a perfect ending to a good meal. The tart berry coulis awakens all the taste receptors and makes the whole dessert a beauty to behold.

Panna Cotta, which is known as “cooked cream” in English, is incredibly easy to make, with the only drawback being that it has to be made ahead of time. Notwithstanding, it is great for just about any party or celebration.

Being a celiac or having gluten sensitivity means being careful about what you consume, and you will be happy to know that Panna Cotta is naturally gluten-free. This article will explore everything you need to know about Panna Cotta and gluten, the ingredients that could possibly contaminate your Panna Cotta with gluten, Panna Cotta gluten-free recipes, and alternatives.


Panna Cotta, which is usually set in a mold using a cylinder, cup, or dome, is an Italian dessert made from gelatin and cream. It is traditionally served with sauce or coulis on the side. The cream is derived from cream substitutes or dairy.

Panna Cotta’s creamy and soft texture makes it versatile; it can be flavored with numerous ingredients like chocolates, nuts, frozen or fresh fruits. To derive a more specific taste, some people love to include spices like cinnamon or vanilla.

Getting this beauty prepared usually takes little time, as the recipe only requires you to stir the ingredients together, then pour it into molds of your choice, then allow it to set in the fridge.


Panna Cotta is gluten-free, as long as it is prepared with traditional ingredients and turned into mold that has not been contaminated with gluten.

Panna Cotta is not only safe for gluten-sensitive people, but it is low in calories, relatively low in fat, and furnishes the body with calcium, making it an excellent choice to end any meal.

Nutrients contained in 60g of Panna Cotta include:

  • Fat: 8.3g
  • Cholesterol: 29mg
  • Calcium: 65.3mg
  • Sugar: 13.4g
  • Saturated Fat: 5:1g
  • Sodium: 35mg
  • Calories: 139
  • Carbohydrates: 13.6g
  • Protein: 2.4g

Panna Cotta Ingredients And Gluten Content

The main ingredients used in the Panna Cotta recipe are heavy cream and sugar, making it high in calories and saturated fat. When compared to other desserts, Panna Cotta has a relatively low fat content.

Ingredient Gluten Content
Cream Gluten free
Sugar Gluten free
Gelatin Gluten free
Milk Gluten free
Vanilla Pods Gluten free
Gelatine leaves Gluten free

All the core ingredients in panna cotta are gluten-free. This makes it a safe dessert option for anyone avoiding gluten. However, be aware of additional flavorings or toppings that may be added, as these could potentially contain gluten. Always check the labels or ask the chef to be sure.


Vanilla bean Panna Cotta can be gluten-free, but this depends on the ingredients used and how it was prepared. The vanilla bean is used to create a resplendent creamy, smooth Italian Panna Cotta dessert, sprinkled with the ever-palate teaser, the Berry Coulis.

Just like other variations of the Panna Cotta dessert, it is a no-bake sweet treat. The best way to ensure that your restaurant-bought desserts are gluten-free is to inquire about the practices used in bringing their dishes to life while ensuring the same utensils used in preparing highly gluten-containing treats or foods weren’t used in making your desserts.


Mango Panna Cotta is primarily made from cream, milk, sugar, gelatin, and mango puree, all of which are naturally gluten-free. However, its gluten status is dependent on the process of preparation and the ingredients used.


Here are some of the ingredients and situations to look out for that could cause gluten contamination in your Panna Cotta;

Flavored Extracts; Some extracts – almond extract and certain types of vanilla extracts for example – may contain gluten as a food ingredient. Read the label to look specifically for gluten free certification, or buy those labelled as gluten free.

Flavored Gelatin; Flavored gelatin can contain additives or thickeners derived from wheat gluten. Stick with plain gelatin or choose a brand that you know is safe.

Cookies and Crusts; If you’re planning to use a cookie or crumb crust, keep in mind that the cookies or crumbs may contain gluten. Look for gluten free cookies or biscuits for best results. Using cookies or graham crackers that contain gluten for a crust will lead to cross contamination.

Toppings; Use caution when selecting toppings for the Panna Cotta. For example, many store bought chocolate shavings, cookie crumbs and cereal flakes made specifically for topping cakes and desserts contain gluten, however certified gluten free products are readily available.


Here is a homemade Panna Cotta recipe that you could try at home even if your gluten sensitivity has heightened your dietary restrictions:


  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin
  • 2 tablespoons cold water
  • Fresh berries or fruit compote for garnish (optional)


  1. Firstly, get your preferred bowls (I use non-stick pudding bowls without a removable base). Five or six of these should be just fine.
  2. We need to prepare the gelatin by soaking its leaves in cold water in a small bowl and then allowing it to sit for 5 minutes. This will make it soft.
  3. While the gelatin is getting ready, you need to heat the milk in a saucepan over medium heat and don’t let it boil.
  4. Take out the gelatin from the water, add it to your hot milk, and start stirring till it’s completely dissolved.
  5. Get your cream poured into a larger saucepan, then add vanilla and sugar.
  6. Bring the cream, sugar, and vanilla mixture to a boil over medium heat until the sugar has dissolved.
  7. Stir the cream and milk mixture until it is thoroughly combined.
  8. Take out your molds from the freezer and turn the Panna Cotta into them.
  9. Get the mixture to cool(having your molds placed in a container with ice can speed up this process) before letting it set in the freezer.

Berry Coulis

  1. On a saucepan set over low heat, put the strawberries, raspberries, and other berries you may intend to use, water, and sugar while getting the berries crushed against the pan with your wooden spoon–to extract the juices.
  2. Until the berries are soft, keep simmering before taking the pan off the heat.
  3. With the aid of a sieve, separate your coulis (the juice) from the fiber and pips.
  4. Allow it to cool before serving.

User Rating: Be the first one !


Consuming the ever-delicious Panna Cotta dessert will not alter your gluten-free lifestyle, as Panna Cotta is naturally gluten-free. If you are enjoying this dessert in a public place, be sure to inquire about their practices; this will give you a hint about any possible gluten cross-contamination.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button