Gluten Free

Are Deviled Eggs Gluten Free?

Deviled eggs taste incredibly delicious, and they are one of the easiest appetizers you’ll ever make. An egg is boiled and seasoned with paprika, while its yolk is mixed with ingredients of choice to smash your taste buds in excitement. The best part is that deviled eggs can be a part of a weight loss plan.

Another great reason why I love making this appetizer is that it is a low-carb snack that is loaded with healthy fats, proteins, and vitamins. They are so versatile that you could find out that four different homes may make the eggs with different ingredients. While these are irresistible treats, can they grace the tables of gluten-sensitive individuals? Here is a detailed investigation.

What are deviled eggs, and why are they called deviled eggs?

Deviled eggs are hard-boiled eggs divided in half and then filled with a paste derived from the yolk of the eggs and other ingredients like relish, mayonnaise, salt, mustard, and pepper. The eggs themselves are usually seasoned with spices like cayenne pepper and paprika.

Deviled eggs, just like lumpia, are typically served as appetizers and often grace picnics, holiday parties, or other social gatherings. Stuffed eggs are popular among Europeans and Americans, but they originated in ancient Rome. However, the preparation methods differ.

Recipes for boiled eggs stuffed with cheese, raisins, and herbs like parsley, mint, and marjoram and then fried in oil and finished with ginger, cinnamon, raisins, and cloves with verjuice (a tangy juice derived from unripe fruits) toppings can be found in medical cookbooks, according to

The term “deviled” is a culinary word for describing heavily seasoned foods. To devil foods means putting together numerous spicy or hot seasonings like mustard, red pepper, or tobacco sauce, thereby, forming a deviled dish. The term likens the heat of hell to the spiciness of the food.

Since most of us attach bad connotations to the word “devil,”  the dish is alternatively referred to as “salad eggs,” “stuffed eggs,” or “dressed eggs.” When I make it for my friends, we all call it deviled eggs because I make it even spicier.

Are deviled eggs healthy?

Deviled eggs are a good source of protein, which aids in the repair and building of tissues. A single deviled egg supplies 6 grams of protein. Further, each of these bite-sized treats supplies iron, vitamin B12, and selenium, among others, which improve cognitive function and aid the immune system.

Eggs supply over 94mg of cholesterol, and while this is almost 1/3 of our daily value, research has proven that dietary cholesterol doesn’t have as much impact on your blood cholesterol levels as was previously believed. Further, the fats in eggs are mainly unsaturated, which could have positive effects on your heart, in moderation, of course.

Are deviled eggs gluten free?

Traditionally, deviled eggs are not made with any ingredients that contain gluten. The common constituents are mayonnaise, mustard, paprika, and other seasonings, which are all gluten-free and safe for celiacs and individuals with nonceliac gluten sensitivity. However, possible cross-contamination could occur when you dine out. Always eat at chains with gluten-free menus.

Mayonnaise of all kinds, including kewpie mayo, your regular mayo, avocado mayo, and even aioli, are all gluten-free. They are practically made with oil, salt, vinegar, or lemon juice, whole eggs, or just egg yolks, like in the case of kewpie mayo, making almost all forms of mayonnaise condiments used in deviled eggs gluten-free.

Dijon mustard is known for its versatility; it is used in potato salads, deviled eggs, and a whole lot of other dishes. Dijon mustard brings all that flavor and complexity to the overall taste of deviled eggs, and it is naturally gluten-free. In place of Dijon mustard, apple cider vinegar can be used sometimes, and they are also gluten-free.

Paprika, which is used as a perfect top finish, peppers, which are used to devil the eggs, and salt, which activates the entire flavor, are naturally gluten-free in the eggs. So, a typical deviled egg is meant to be free from gluten, except the chef gets too excited and decides to try out some new additions. Always make it a habit to ask what is in your meal or to make your dietary restrictions known beforehand to ensure you get a gluten-free experience.

Do deviled eggs contain gluten? Final Thoughts

Deviled eggs are naturally gluten-free, so celiacs and individuals with nonceliac gluten sensitivity can enjoy these appetizers with no problems at all. However, there is a possible risk of cross-contamination in the kitchen. Ensure to make your dietary needs known or do research earlier before dining out.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button