Gluten Free

Is Spicy Mayo Gluten Free?

Mayonnaise is one of my favorite versatile condiments. There are no rules as to how it should taste or be; the final result depends on the creativity of the maker. I recently made a turmeric-infused mayonnaise for my wife, who loves mayonnaise so much but is recovering from inflammation.

Turmeric wasn’t even the only spice I threw in there, I played around with a few ingredients, and yet, it turned out perfectly well (according to her).  Spicy mayo is a great invention; since some people find regular mayonnaise to be nauseating, the chili in spicy mayonnaise rules out the nauseating part beautifully, but is spicy mayo safe for gluten-sensitive individuals?

Here is everything you need to know about spicy mayo’s gluten status.

What is Spicy Mayo?

Spicy mayo is a flavorful and versatile condiment that combines the creaminess of mayonnaise with a kick of heat. Most typically, Japanese kewpie mayo, which serves as the base of spicy mayo, has a rich umami flavor due to the only egg yolks used in making it and its MSG content and is the start of every spicy mayo recipe.

Other ingredients used include sriracha sauce, which brings in heat, and lemon juice, which brightens the entire flavor. This type of mayonnaise is used for a wide range of foods, like sushi, where it adds an extra oomph. It is also used in burgers, sandwiches, tacos, fries, and steak.

There are numerous variations of spicy mayo, as it can be customized to suit just about any style of dieting. For vegans, they could easily substitute the kewpie mayonnaise for a vegan mayo; apple cider vinegar can be used instead of lime; and people like me would even add some roasted sesame oil to add some extra depth to the flavor profile.

Is spicy mayo healthy?

The healthy status of spicy mayo doesn’t fall far from that of regular mayonnaise. While they elevate the flavor of dishes and could easily become your favorite dipping sauce, it is important to know that they are high-calorie and high-fat condiments and should be consumed in moderation.

Most commercial producers may opt for highly processed vegetable oils, which are not healthy. Further, kewpie mayo, which is usually the base for this mayao, contains MSG, which is not harmful, but some individuals are allergic to this flavor enhancer, and symptoms could be triggered.

To make spicy mayonnaise healthier, you can replace the mayonnaise partly or completely with some Greek yogurt, which has a lower calorie and fat content. Further, you could use avocado oil, asity is rich in mono-saturated fats, which are incredibly good for your heart. Like most other condiments, in moderation, spicy mayo can be a part of a healthy, balanced diet.

Is Spicy Mayo Gluten Free?

Traditional spicy mayo recipes are made from egg mayonnaise, oil like roasted sesame oil, vinegar, or lemon juice, which are all gluten-free. However, other ingredients that introduce additional flavor may contain gluten, such as the siracha sauce, making it important to check the labels.

Most commercial spicy mayo you will find online or on the shelves of the supermarkets around you is gluten-free, such as Hellman’s, Duke’s mayo, and Chosen Foods, which all offer gluten-free options. If you opt to make this mayo at home, ensure that all the ingredients you use are gluten-free.

For most condiments I use at home, I make them from scratch to be on the safer side. The Kewpie mayonnaise used in spicy mayo is always gluten-free, whether made at home or bought commercially, as it is typically made of only pasteurized egg yolks, vegetable oil, rice vinegar, and salt. However, be sure to always check the label, as some are made with malt vinegar, which contains gluten.

As for the siracha chili sauce, it is typically gluten-free. Most brands you will find, like Lee Kum Kee, Tabasco, Huy Fong, and the Rooster brand, are all certified gluten-free. However, if you’re going to be dining out and having some spicy mayo sauce, do ensure to check in with the server or the chef to be sure that your dish is free from any form of gluten.

Other gluten-free condiments you will enjoy on your foods

While spicy mayo is a game changer, other condiments could transform different foods into irresistible delicacies. Here are some of those:

Bearnaise sauce

Bearnaise sauce is a condiment put together with just butter, egg yolks, shallots, vinegar, and tarragon. It boasts a velvety texture with a beautiful blend of tangy and sweet. This condiment is best used on steak, but you could use it for whatever you could imagine its taste on.

Avocado mayo

When you hear of avocado mayonnaise, I am sure you are thinking of mashed avocado in a jar, but it’s a bit far from that. This mayo is made with your regular mayo ingredients like eggs, vinegar, and salt, but instead of vegetable oil, avocado oil is used, infusing that lovely avocado taste we all love on bread, sandwiches, and steaks.

Aioli

Here is another favorite condiment of mine. The garlic aioli is usually a treat your taste buds will be thankful for. It is made with garlic, egg yolks, mustard, olive oil, and lemon juice. It is sometimes confused with mayonnaise, and you won’t blame anyone since it is made with similar ingredients, but it just has a unique divine taste that can be used for a wide array of dishes.

Final Thoughts

Spicy mayonnaise is traditionally gluten-free, as it is not made with any gluten-containing ingredients. However, do your due diligence and scan through the labels to make sure they are certified gluten-free or that they don’t contain any sneaky gluten sources.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button