Dairy free

Is Aioli Dairy Free?

Aioli is gluten free and is one of my favorite condiment as it boasts a distinctive taste, which I crave most of the time. It is versatile and can be used for an array of dishes, but is aioli dairy free? Here is everything you need to know.

Aioli, what is It?

Aioli is a two-ingredient, pungent sauce derived from olive oil and garlic. The word “aioli” was coined from ail, which is French for garlic, and oli, which is Provencal for oil. Aioli is commonly eaten in the Northern Mediterranean, especially in southern France and eastern Spain.

However, its popularity has spread beyond the borders. Aioli is sometimes misrepresented as mayonnaise as they both feature similar appearance and texture; however, they are different condiments.

Aioli is made by emulsifying fresh garlic with olive oil, and in recent times, most chefs and companies have preferred to add some egg yolks to achieve extra richness, and this version has become pretty common and loved. On the other hand, mayonnaise is made by emulsifying whole eggs in a neutral oil. A distinctive brand such as Kewpie Mayo ditches the egg whites, using only the egg yolks to form a healthy mayo with a richer mouthfeel.


Dairy products are products that contain milk or are derived from the milk of mammals such as goats, cows, water buffalo, or ewes, making them a source of lactose. Lactose has snuck into many foods we consume, such as hot dogs, as manufacturers keep aiming to produce rich-tasting products.

Most of us, classified as lactose-intolerant individuals, lack the sufficient amount of lactase enzymes to digest the lactose found in these products, which often results in diarrhea, bloating, and gas after consuming any product with dairy. Hence, it is important to avoid consuming lactose-rich foods so we don’t get embarrassed while dining out.

Health Benefits

Aioli has lots of calories and fats, with a 100-gram serving containing as much as 769 calories, 77 mg of cholesterol, 0 carbs, 0 protein, and 84.6 grams of fat. With such figures, aioli is not that healthy, especially if eaten without a proper portion control plan.

However, Aioli still offers some great benefits. Garlic, being the main ingredient, contains a compound called allicin, which is rich in sulfur and is also an antibiotic that can keep infection in check while also upholding the body’s natural defense. Further, egg yolks contain glycopeptides, which also amplify the immune system, according to research.

Olive oil is a healthy oil that is rich in monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids and is known to reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease and stroke and lower harmful LDL cholesterol levels, according to a study.

Is Aioli Dairy Free?

Aioli is dairy-free. Aioli is made with olive oil, vinegar or lemon juice, seasonings like ginger sometimes, and garlic, which are all dairy-free. There is usually no need to add any wheat-based product to this ingredient, as it always has that creamy texture once emulsified. It could get even better with the addition of egg yolks.

However, you should exercise some caution when you dine out or consume any commercial form of aioli, as dairy may be snuck in one way or another. Do your due diligence to read carefully through the label or communicate your dietary restrictions with the server to ensure you get a diary-free condiment.

What Is In Aioli?

Ingredient Dairy-Free?
Garlic Yes
Egg Yolks Yes
Olive Oil Yes
Lemon Juice Yes
Salt Yes
Mustard (optional) Yes
Vinegar (optional) Yes
Non-Dairy Milk (optional) It depends on the type of milk used; plant-based alternatives like almond, soy, or coconut milk are dairy-free.
Cheese (in some variations) No, unless using dairy-free cheese alternatives.

Is Chipotle Aioli Dairy Free?

Traditional Chipotle aioli is dairy-free. However, commercial Chipotle aioli could contain dairy, which makes it important to read through the labels. Most restaurants I have been to usually have dairy-free Chipotle aioli, as my extensive discussions with the servers always reveal.

Is Heinz Aioli Dairy Free?

Heinze aioli is dairy-free, making it suitable for individuals with lactose intolerance. It is derived from sunflower oil, garlic puree, and other plant-based ingredients. However, the concern is usually soy (for those with soy allergies), as most heinze products contain traces of soy.

Other Condiments That Taste Just Great

If you’re looking for that rich and creamy experience for your sandwiches, burgers, or even steak, here are some condiments you’ll find interesting:

Kewpie Mayo

Kewpie mayo is gluten- and dairy-free, and they also have a vegan variation. It is made with just egg yolks, salt, and oil. It is far more nutritious than your regular mayonnaise, and it has an endearing umami taste (all thanks to the MSG used). Kewpie mayo is the life of sushi, okonomiyaki, potato salads, and sandwiches like banh mi.


Bearnaise sauce is a creamy herb sauce that pairs perfectly with steak, veggies, or fish. It is made from egg yolks, butter, onion, tarragon, vinegar, lemon juice, parsley, and seasonings. Bearnaise has a creamy, slightly tangy taste with a velvety texture.

Is Garlic Aioli Dairy Free? Final Thoughts

Except for a variation that clearly states milk as part of the ingredients on the label, garlic aioli or most forms of aioli are dairy-free and safe for individuals with lactose intolerance.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button