Gluten Free

Is Kewpie Mayo Gluten Free?

Jump to recipe

Can you imagine grilled cheese sandwiches, coleslaw, potato salads, and silky dressings without mayonnaise, an essential condiment that pulls them together? That creamy texture and savory, tangy flavor are always a delight to the palate. But, is kewpie mayo gluten free?

While kewpie mayonnaise can make most meals quite delicious and is the unsung hero of most appetizers and main course recipes, being gluten-sensitive stresses the need to probe into the product to determine if the process of production and ingredients used are gluten-free.

Here is everything you need to know about kewpie mayonnaise’s health benefits, gluten status, ingredients used, and a homemade kewpie mayonnaise recipe that you will love.

What is Kewpie Mayonnaise?

This luscious condiment has been stocked up in Japanese kitchens since 1925 but has recently become popular in the United States. Beyond its eggy umami and sweet, tangy flavor, it is richer and smoother than your average mayo and is distinguished by its signature soft squeeze bottle. The absence of water in some kewpie mayonnaise means it is available for between $6 and $16.

This is a mayo that you just have to taste to understand its goodness. In the making of the kewpie mayonnaise, rice vinegar or apple cider vinegar is used, and only egg yolks are used, guaranteeing a lush, smooth texture (custard consistency) and a deeper yellow color that we love to see on our sandwiches.

Kewpie mayonnaise is used in sandwiches, pancakes, and potato salads, and it can be used to finish an array of dishes. I enjoy this mayonnaise in potato salads, and so do my kids.

Healthy or Unhealthy?

The initial taste of kewpie is slightly fruity and creamier. The egginess could be felt, but it won’t overpower your palate. It is devoid of added sugar. In comparison with the American counterparts that use whole eggs, kewpie uses only yolks, which are a great source of minerals and vitamins like folate, iron, and vitamin A.

However, kewpie mayo has a high fat and calorie content. In a tablespoon of kewpie mayonnaise, 11 grams of fat and 100 calories are derived, making it not the best choice for people who are watching their weight, as you could easily surpass your daily calorie intake by snacking on sandwiches creamed with kewpie mayo.

Kewpie is low in net carbs but should be avoided by people on a keto diet, as it contains soybean and canola oil, which have high-fat profiles.

Compared to other regular mayonnaises, kewpie mayo is healthy as it contains 50% fewer calories, more protein, fewer fats, and fewer carbs per serving making it a healthier option.

Is Kewpie Mayo Gluten Free?

The majority of kewpie mayo varieties are gluten-free. They contain ingredients that are devoid of gluten, like distilled vinegar such as apple cider vinegar, rice vinegar, MSG, mustard flour, salt, etc. And they have gluten-free vegan kosher mayo, which you could just get right away.

Does kewpie mayo have gluten?

However, some kewpie mayonnaises, such as those containing barley malt or malt vinegar, which are both not gluten-free, make it essential for you to check the label of any variety of kewpie mayonnaise you intend to buy, to ensure you get a gluten-free kewpie mayo.

Is kewpie mayo gluten free Australia?

The Australian version is gluten-free as it is made with Distilled Vinegar, Soybean Oil, Egg Yolk (9.5%), Salt, Rice Vinegar, Water, Preservative (3135), Flavour Enhancer (621), Flavouring (contains mustard) which are all gluten-free.

What Are the Ingredients in Kewpie Mayonnaise?

Below is a basic table of the major ingredients used in making kewpie mayonnaise and their gluten status:

Ingredient Gluten Status
Vegetable Oil Gluten-free
Egg Yolks Gluten-free
Vinegar Gluten-free
Water Gluten-free
Salt Gluten-free
Sugar Gluten-free
Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) Gluten-free
Mustard Gluten-free
Spices Gluten-free
Preservatives May contain gluten (check specific brand)

 

Read: Do egg roll wrappers contain gluten?

How to find a gluten-free Mayo

Most mayo brands are free from gluten sources such as barley, wheat, and rye, (as they are not required in the traditional recipe) which could trigger gluten sensitivity symptoms such as bloating, diarrhea, loss of appetite, and constipation in people with celiac diseases.

However, to achieve a specific flavor or increase the shelf life, some manufacturers may use gluten-containing ingredients and preservatives. Some mayo is made with undistilled vinegar obtained from grains, which is a source of gluten.

Gluten is usually expelled from vinegar during the distillation process, making distilled vinegar gluten-free. The best way to ensure you don’t get a gluten-containing mayo while shopping is to thoroughly examine the label.

The Food and Drug Administration states that for a product to contain “no gluten”, “gluten-free”, “without gluten”, and “free gluten” labels, it should contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, making it safe for people who don’t need to consume gluten in their diets.

Since all manufacturers are not legally bound to include gluten-free labels on their products, a product could still be gluten-free but not have a gluten-free label. This is why you have to rely on the ingredient list or shop from brands that are certified gluten-free, or you can take advantage of our homemade kewpie mayo gluten-free recipe, which we will be revealing shortly.

Read: Is there Gluten in Aioli? Find out!

What Brands Of Mayonnaise Are Gluten Free?

  • Trader Joe’s
  • Kraft
  • Heinz
  • Primal Kitchen
  • Veganaise
  • Duke’s
  • Blue Plate
  • Hellman’s

Listing the brands here doesn’t mean all their mayo products are gluten-free, as some of their varieties may contain gluten, which is why you have to look out for gluten-free tags.

Is Kewpie mayo good on sandwiches?

Kewpie mayo has a tender flavor that doesn’t overpower your dish making it great for egg, chicken, chicken club, ham and cheese sandwiches, veggies sandwiches, and just about any sandwich, that is how versatile it could be.

Does kewpie mayo have gluten? Final Thoughts

Kewpie mayo is gluten-free, but some international version contains malt vinegar which is a source of gluten. You need to look at the label of the kewpie mayonnaise you intend to buy.

They have a vegan gluten-free Kosher version that could be used by anyone following with gluten sensitivity and is made purely from all-plant ingredients and distilled vinegar.

Did you try out our recipe? Let us know how it turned out.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button