Gluten Free

Is Aioli Gluten Free?

Jump to recipe

Aioli is one of my favorite sauces. It is versatile and can be used for just about any dish that requires a spread or a dipping sauce. Beyond what is offered on the counters, I have made varieties of flavors, and I have become obsessed with the roasted garlic flavor.

Aioli has an intense garlic taste that we all adore, but is it gluten-free? Can you eat it if you’re on a restricted diet? This article will provide you with all you need to know, including brands that sell gluten-free aioli and gluten-free recipes you’ll love to try at home.

What is Aioli?

While flavored mayonnaise is referred to as aioli in the U.S., it is not mayonnaise. Unlike mayonnaise, which is the product of emulsified egg yolks and oil, aioli is a mouth-watering product of emulsified garlic and olive oil. Traditionally, aioli is only made with garlic and salt. According to David Tanis, A Platter of Figs and Other Recipe

In recent times, we have seen various versions of aioli emerge, from the French version that includes mustard to the version where egg yolks and lemon juice are added, to others that can be referred to as garlic mayonnaise as a result of adding egg yolks.

Aioli is just as great as mayonnaise; it can be added to anything you’d have originally used mayonnaise for, like a dip with crudites, sandwiches, roasted vegetables, French fries, steamed artichokes, as a base for Caesar dressing, and more.

Is Aioli healthy?

Unlike other mayonnaises like kewpie, aioli is less healthy as it contains a lot of calories and is also high in fat. It is best to steer clear of aioli if a healthcare provider has advised you to cut down on your calorie or fat intake.

While aioli would make your dish more palatable and treat you to its unique flavor when added to veggies, meats, and sandwiches, it actually provides you with a substantial health benefit.

Also, if you’re allergic to any of the ingredients used in making aioli, it is best that you avoid them. Beyond the unhealthy fat and calorie content, the allicin found in garlic can help boost your immune system.

Also, the quercetin and sulfur content of garlic can help prevent cataracts. Olive oil provides healthy lipids that aid in the improvement of your skin, according to research.

What Does Aioli Taste Like?

Aioli has a robust, intense garlic flavor, topped off with the fruity, slightly peppery undertone of olive. It is creamy and velvety in the mouth, and versions that include just egg yolks have this slightly umami flavor, while the Dijon mustard or lemon juice varieties just balance the whole flavor.

Is Aioli gluten free?

Aioli is gluten-free and dairy-free. It is a northeast meditation cold sauce made by emulsifying a few ingredients like garlic, olive oil, dijon mustard, salt, and garlic, all of which are gluten-free.

Aioli doesn’t call for thickeners, which are derived from wheat. However, it is best to always look up the labels of any commercial aioli you intend to purchase and ensure no gluten-containing ingredient is included.

Is Chipotle Aioli gluten-free?

Most Chipotle aioli are not gluten-free as they contain modified food starch that is sometimes derived from wheat, malt vinegar, which contains gluten, and other additives such as thickeners and stabilizers, which contain gluten in some cases.

Read through the label, or better yet, contact the customer care of the particular product you intend to buy and verify if they adhere to gluten-free practices or not. The best way to ensure you’re getting a gluten-free chipotle aioli is to make them at home yourself.

Is sriracha aioli gluten free?

Sriracha aioli is of Thai origin, where it is used in soups, as a dipping sauce, and on potato chips. Sriracha is also known as rooster sauce and can be found in almost all restaurants in the U.S.

Sriracha aioli is a creamy and slightly spicy sauce that is traditionally gluten-free as it is made from grated garlic, mustard, lemon juice, cayenne pepper, a pinch of salt, and mayonnaise.

However, for commercial versions, you have to check the labels, and for the ones you get served at restaurants, you have to ask the waiter about their gluten content. Most restaurants are becoming more aware of gluten sensitivity, and they will provide as much help or information on the gluten content of their menu.

Brands that sell gluten-free aioli

These are the brands I purchase my gluten-free aioli from, and I have not had any problems so far:

Marky’s Black Truffle Aioli Sauce Mayonnaise

This is considered more of a truffle aioli mayonnaise, but guess what? It still has that intense garlic taste, which is layered with truffle. It can be used for pizza, fish, sandwiches, asparagus, tater tots, and burgers. It is gluten-free and vegetarian.

Anna’s Country Kitchen’s Local Gluten-Free Dipping Sauce, Spicy Chipotle Aioli

Just like the name suggests, it is gluten-free and has all that chipotle goodness.

Stonewall Kitchen

Stonewall provides an array of flavors you can choose from, like roasted mustard (my favorite), rosemary, and lemon herb aioli, all of which are gluten-free and use natural flavors.

Is garlic aioli gluten-free? Final Thoughts

Garlic aioli is gluten-free as it is made with a few ingredients like garlic, mustard, olive oil, and salt (in some cases, eggs), and all these ingredients are gluten-free.

However, you still have to be cautious while buying commercial products, buy from brands that produce gluten-free items, or just make the sauce at home, since you will have control over what goes in your sauce or not.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button