Gluten Free

Is Chimichurri Gluten Free?

Chimichurri sauce is one of those sauces that you try the first time, and then you suddenly begin to crave it. It has this taste that makes you keep wanting more. It blends perfectly well with roasted foods and meat, and it still does wonders when paired with pasta, but is chimichurri sauce gluten free? Here is all you need to know about this popular Argentine sauce.

What Is Chimichurri?

Chimichurri is an uncooked herb sauce that originated in Argentina and Uruguay. It has two main variations: green chimichurri, which is made with red wine vinegar, olive oil, oregano, seasonings, finely chopped parsley, and garlic. The red chimichurri is spicier as it incorporates dried red chili, smoked paprika, pepper flakes, or cayenne pepper. I do add red bell pepper to the condiment for more color.

Chimichurri is very easy to make, and most times, the ingredients are readily available in our pantry. Chimichurri is primarily served with steak, chicken, and fish. But it doesn’t end there; it is also delicious when combined with pasta, when combined with rice to form an herb pilaf, or as a perfect spread for garlic bread.

What Does Chimichurri Taste Like

Chimichurri is pungent and zesty, all thanks to the garlic, cilantro, and parsley used. Chimichurri sauce is oily and moist, and its texture is dependent on how long it was processed in the food processor and the ingredients used, but it is usually as smooth as a paste.

Is Chimichurri Healthy?

Chimichurri boasts lots of health benefits. Parsley contributes vitamins A and C, calcium, iron, and carotenes. Oregano contributes iron, calcium, fiber, and vitamins E and K. The garlic improves cognitive functions, digestion, and blood sugar balance.

Chimichurri has high anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties. Its calorie content is based on the ingredients used in the particular condiment. On average, a cup of this sauce supplies 200 to 330 calories.

Is Chimichurri Gluten-free?

The all-purpose chimichurri condiment is gluten-free. It is made from parsley, cilantro, garlic, olive oil, and various seasonings, all of which are gluten-free. However, it’s important to be cautious with the type of vinegar used; malt vinegar, which contains gluten, should be avoided.

Also, when you dine in a restaurant, be sure to inquire about the ingredients used and also make your dietary restrictions known so extra care can be taken to avoid cross-contamination in the kitchen.

As always, the best way to consume gluten-free condiments like chimichurri, aioli, and bearnaise is to make them yourself. If you are buying from stores, make sure to look at the label thoroughly.

Chimichurri ingredients
@ kitchensanctuary

Is Chimichurri seasoning Gluten Free?

Yes, chimichurri seasonings are usually gluten-free, but it’s important to check the specific product’s label. Look for gluten-free certifications or indications on the packaging.

Most seasonings don’t contain ingredients that have gluten, and they don’t have gluten-free tags either. In this case, I contacted the manufacturer for clarification on their gluten-free status and any measures taken to prevent cross-contamination.

Is Chimichurri Served In Restaurants Gluten-free?

Chimichurriser in restaurants may or may not be gluten-free. The gluten-free status of chimichurri, when served in a restaurant, depends on the ingredients used and possible cross-contamination while making the sauce.

When I seek gluten-free foods, I do research before it is time to dine out to check for restaurants around me that offer the gluten-free version of the food I crave. This has helped me eat at restaurants without problems.

Gluten-Free Chimichurri Brands

There are a few brands that offer gluten-free chimichurri sauce, and they taste great. While chimichurri is naturally gluten-free, these brands only make sure not to keep their production free from gluten. Here are brands I buy from when I am too lazy to make some myself:

Gaucho Ranch Chimichurri Sauce Mild Hot

If you love red chimichurri, this is your brand. It is hot, spicy, and ideal for just about anything you intend to use it for. I prefer to use it with roasted potatoes, al pastor, steak, and roasted fish. It has a relatively low calorie content, and one thing I love about it is that it does not overpower the flavor of any dish or food you add it to.

Arytza Chimichurri

This is another rad chimichurri condiment. It is made with the same ingredients as traditional chimichurri; however, lemon juice and ground pepper are added. It is just as versatile as the Gaucho ranch and can be used for anything.

Is Trader Joe’s chimichurri sauce gluten free?

Trader Joe’s chimichurri sauce is made from olive oil, cilantro, red wine vinegar, garlic, oil, water, sea salt, crushed red pepper, cumin, and parsley, which are all gluten-free. There are no gluten-free tags on this product, so you may want to exercise caution.


Chimichurri sauce is gluten-free, but this can be dependent on the preparation methods and ingredients used. It is best to do this yourself for a great gluten-free experience. However, if your schedule is tight, you should do research and place a call to ensure the restaurant takes precautions to prevent cross-contamination.

Cortiso Davids

My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button